Cynthia Boysen, M.Eng.

Contact data

Phone +49 (0) 461 80517457
Mail cynthia.boysen [at] hs-flensburg.de
Street Kanzleistraße 91-93
ZIP, City D-24943 Flensburg
Department Energy and Biotechnology
Building H
Room 321

Research

University Flensburg University of Applied Sciences
Research cluster Thermische Anlagen, Systemintegration

Lectures

  • Thermodynamics tutorial

Biography

Cynthia Boysen studied Energy and Environmental Management (Industrial Engineering) at the University of Applied Sciences Flensburg (Bachelor of Engineering) and the University Flensburg (Master of Engineering) from 2008 until 2014.

During the bachelor’s programme Cynthia Boysen spent a semester abroad at the Dublin City University (DCU), Ireland. There she took additional economic courses in the field of marketing and risk management. Subsequently, Cynthia Boysen completed her internship at GEO mbH, where she gained considerable experiences in project planning of wind farms. Within the scope of her Bachelor’s thesis, she compared the economic feasibility of wind energy sites in northern and southern Germany with a newly developed tool.

As a supplement to the Master’s programme, Cynthia Boysen deepened the focus on engineering in a further semester abroad at the University of California, Davis. In her Master’s thesis she investigated the energy consumption and the resulting CO2 emissions of international shipping until 2050.

Since 2014 Cynthia Boysen is working as a research assistant at the University of Applied Sciences, Flensburg, in the field of Energy and Biotechnology. Her work is focused on engineering thermodynamics and techno-economical assessments of thermal power plants and energy storages.

Publications

Here you can find the publications the employee contributed to.

Cynthia Boysen, M.Eng.

Kontakt

Telefon +49 (0) 461 80517457
Mail cynthia.boysen [at] hs-flensburg.de
Straße Kanzleistraße 91-93
PLZ, Stadt D-24943 Flensburg
Institut / Abteilung Energie und Biotechnologie
Gebäude H
Raum 321

Forschung & Lehre

Hochschule Hochschule Flensburg
Forschungscluster Thermische Anlagen, Systemintegration

Lehrveranstaltungen

  • Thermodynamik Übung

Biographie

Cynthia Boysen studierte von 2008 bis 2014 Energie- und Umweltmanagement (Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen) an der Hochschule Flensburg (Bachelor) und der Universität Flensburg (Master).

Während des Bachelorstudiums verbrachte Cynthia Boysen ein Semester an der Dublin City University (DCU) in Irland, wo sie wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Kurse im Bereich Marketing und Risikobewertung belegte. Anschließend absolvierte Cynthia Boysen ein Praktikum bei der Firma GEO mbH, in welchem sie weitreichende Erfahrungen zur Projektierung von Windparks sammeln konnte. Im Rahmen der Bachelorthesis verglich sie im Auftrag von GEO die Wirtschaftlichkeit von nord- und süddeutschen Windenergiestandorten mit einem selbst entwickelten Tool.

Als Ergänzung zum Masterstudium vertiefte Cynthia Boysen den ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkt in einem zusätzlichen Auslandssemester an der University of California, Davis. In ihrer Masterthesis untersuchte sie für die Universität Flensburg den Energieverbrauch und die resultierenden CO2-Emissionen des internationalen Seeverkehrs bis 2050.

Seit 2014 ist Cynthia Boysen als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Hochschule Flensburg im Bereich Energie- und Biotechnologie tätig. Die Schwerpunkte ihrer Arbeit liegen in der thermodynamischen Berechnung sowie der technischen und energiewirtschaftlichen Bewertung von Kraftwerken bzw. Energiespeichern.

Publikationen

Hier finden sich Publikationen, an denen diese/r Mitarbeiter/in beteiligt war.